International Confederation for Thermal Analysis and Calorimetry (ICTAC)

Welcome to the International Confederation for Thermal Analysis and Calorimetry (ICTAC)

ICTAC is a Confederation of National or Regional Thermal Analysis and Calorimetry Societies. The aim of
ICTAC is to promote international understanding and cooperation in thermal analysis and calorimetry
through the organization of international congresses and the work of its scientific committees.

ICTAC originated as ICTA, the International Confederation for Thermal Analysis, which was formed at the
First International Conference on Thermal Analysis, held in Aberdeen, Scotland, in September 1965. In
1992, the name was changed to International Confederation for Thermal Analysis and Calorimetry to reflect
the close relationship between thermal analysis and calorimetry.

The Confederation has 24 Affiliated National or Regional Societies with a combined membership of over
5000. In addition there are some 500 individual members of ICTAC. Membership is open to everyone
regardless of scientific discipline.

17th ICTAC Congress (2020)

Date: August 30—September 4, 2020
Place: Krakow (Poland)

Conference Chair: Dr. K. Pielichowski
Conference Webpage: https://ictac2020.jordan.pl/en

TA-Instruments ICTAC Award 2020 for Prof. Wei-Ping Pan

The ICTAC Executive Committee and Scientific Award Committee are delighted to announce that the recipient of the 2020 TA-Instruments – ICTAC Award is Prof. Wei-Ping Pan, Sumpter Professor Emeritus of Chemistry at the Western Kentucky University.

By this scientific award sponsored by TA Instruments, ICTAC would like to recognize Prof. Pan’s outstanding contributions to the field of thermal analysis.

The award will be presented at the 17th ICTAC Congress https://ictac2020.jordan.pl/en.
Please join us to congratulate Prof. Pan in Krakow, Poland on 30 August – 4 September, 2020.

Rigaku – ICTAC Young Scientist Award 2020 for Dr. Kento Shiota

The ICTAC Executive and Scientific Awards Committees are pleased to announce the Winner of the 2020 Rigaku-ICTAC Young Scientist Award: Dr. Kento Shiota, Assistant Professor of Institute of Advanced Sciences at Yokohama National University (Japan). Dr. Shiota is an outstanding young scientist and has made his contribution in the fields of energetic materials and loss prevention of the chemical industry, especially regarding the thermal hazard evaluation of reactive chemicals. His winning paper is “Thermal and kinetic analysis on pyrolysis reaction of hydroxylammonium nitrate solution”.

ICTAC also congratulates the following ICTAC Travel Grant recipients:

•             Dr. Steven Araujo – Ecole Nationale Supérieur d'Arts et Métiers (France)
•             Dr. Gage Patrick Ashton – University of Huddersfield (UK)
•             Dr. Gabriela Hotová – University of Ostrava (Czech Republic)
•             Dr. Francesca Saitta – University of Milan (Italy)

The ICTAC Travel Grants aim to encourage young scientists to develop their careers in the fields of thermal analysis and calorimetry.

ICTAC TA Nomenclature has been endorsed finally by the IUPAC

New Nomenclature rules

The ICTAC TA Nomenclature has been endorsed finally by the IUPAC and this has been published in the  April 2014 issue of Pure and Applied Chemistry.

ICTAC records its deep sense of appreciation to the Nomenclature Committee members and other participants in this mission for their tremendous efforts in updating the nomenclature rules.The IUPAC policy does not put any restriction to the circulation and copying of the document, provided the reference of the publication and the IUPAC copyright are clearly shown.

Trevor Lever, Peter Haines, Jean Rouquerol, Edward L. Charsley, Paul Van Eckeren and Donald J. Burlett (2014) ICTAC nomenclature of thermal analysis (IUPAC Recommendations 2014). Pure Appl. Chem. 86(4), 545–553. DOI 10.1515/pac-2012-0609.

Download the PDF-file of this publication.

Copyright © International Confederation for Thermal Analysis and Calorimetry (ICTAC) - All Rights Reserved
Website designed by Consilium IT Services & Wolf-Achim Kahl