

First Call for Nominations for the ICTAC Young Scientist Award & ICTAC Travel Grants

17th ICTAC Congress, Krakow, Poland, August 30th to September 4th, 2020

Introduction

The ICTAC Young Scientist Award & ICTAC Travel Grant programme aims to strengthen the future of ICTAC by helping outstanding young scientists to develop their careers in the fields of thermal analysis and calorimetry by enabling them to present a paper on their research at an ICTAC Congress.

The winner of the ICTAC Young Scientist Award will be chosen by the ICTAC Scientific Awards Committee and ratified by the ICTAC Council. The choice of the ICTAC Travel Grant recipients will be based on the ranking order provided by the Awards Committee for candidates for the ICTAC Young Scientist Award. Candidates must be under the age of 32 years on August 30th 2020.

Rigaku-ICTAC Young Scientist Award

The winner of this Award will present his paper at a Plenary Session of the 17th ICTAC Congress. The Award consists of a plaque, the Congress Registration Fee and \$2000 towards the travel and the living expenses at the Congress. The travel and living expenses will be paid by bank transfer at the Congress.

The previous winners of the Young Scientist Award are: Dagmar Brandova, Czechoslovakia (1985); Judith Schlichter-Aronheim, Israel (1988); Jĭrí Málek, Czechoslovakia (1992); Nobuyoshi Koga, Japan (1996); Erqiang Chen, USA (2000); Christopher Li, USA (2004); Imre Miklós Szilágyi, Hungary (2008); Séverine Boyer, France (2012), Andrei Rotaru, Romania (2016).

ICTAC Travel Grants

Five Travel Grants of \$1500 each are available to enable the recipients to present a paper at the appropriate Technical Session of the 17th ICTAC Congress. Grants will be payable by bank transfer at the Congress as a contribution to living and travel expenses.

The 2016 ICTAC Travel Grant recipients were: Dorien Baeten (Belgium); Dr Guiseppe Cavallaro (Italy); Dr Nicolas Delpouve (France); Dr Tibor Dubaj (Slovak Republic); Dr Nataliia Gorodylova (Czech Republic); Dr Joakim Riikonen (Finland).

Nominating Procedure

Nominations for the Award may only be made by an ICTAC Affiliated Society. They should include a letter of nomination by the President of the Affiliate Society on behalf of its Council, curriculum vitae, list of publications and a one page abstract of the paper that the candidate intends to present at the 17th ICTAC Congress. A maximum of two letters of support may also be supplied. The complete nominating material should be sent in electronic format to Professor Riko Ozao, who chairs the ICTAC Scientific Awards Committee (<u>ozao@shohoku.ac.jp</u>) by the 31st January 2020. Only one nomination is permitted for each Affiliate Society.